Faculty Senate Minutes April 24, 2015

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 am by Mindy Davis

Roll Call was taken with the following present:

SOBT: Mindy Davis, David Miller

- EDUC: Shelly Worm
- LA: Dr. Richard Harland, Patrick Maille
- MSN: Shawna Tucker
- UC: Sarah Green

## Minutes :

Motion to approve by D. Miller, seconded by S. Tucker, Motion Carried.

## Old Business:

D. Miller informed the senate that all "campus open carry" bills have been removed from consideration by the OK legislature.

## New Business:

- Dr. Wayne Manning discussed the next HLC study and the Retention Project
  - Selected the path to accreditation that is similar to our 2010 accreditation
  - We have to do a 5 year project before 2020 HLC visit selected Retention as that project and joined the Retention Academy (we joined the assessment academy for the 2010 project)
  - Joe Breeden, Pete Camfield, Justin Collins, Carolyn McCargish, and Sara Richter are in the academy and will go to Chicago for their first meeting in June.
  - They will be collecting base line retention data from faculty between now and May 4 to compile before the June meeting.

Dr. Manning presented information on CCA, Complete College America

- Encouraged us to award more associate degrees
- Encouraged us to consider certificate opportunities for students
- Three new certifications being presented to regents
  - o EMT
  - o Advanced EMT
  - Fire Fighting

Dr. Manning discussed banner implementation.

Faculty Senate Members then discussed the issues presented by Dr. Manning.

Faculty Senate members discussed the Blue Cross Blue Shield breach. Be aware that several employees at OPSU are dealing with identity theft because of that breach. Identity theft was discovered when they tried to file their tax returns. Discussed membership terms – only D. Miller, S. Worm, and J Mihelic will continue to 2015-2016 year. All other members need to notify their schools that their two-year terms have been served and new members need to be chosen by their respective schools.

Adjourn: Motion to adjourn by S. Tucker at 10:05. Motion Carried.

Next meeting will be in Fall 2015